Cinema ‘Interno’

Posted: August 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

I am back to writing after a sabbatical of 8 months, a time off as intentional as ad lib. I would count these 8 months as the most important in my otherwise unimportant life. A lot of introspection and retrospection occurred during this short period and I am ‘herenow’ ( a bit oshoistic to start with) in its true sense. I have changed from a crazy movie buff to a watcher of the inner cinema in these 8 months.

Movies have always fascinated me (fascination would be a lesser word to describe my penchant for movie viewing). Mohanlal and Rajnikanth were my childhood heroes, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Jean Paul Van Dame replaced them in the adolescence , Robert De Niro and Al pacino fired my imagination in the intellectually marooned college days. There was a gradual growth from Priyan to Bharathan to Mani Ratnam to Spielberg , Cameron and Lucas to Sergio Leone to Scorsese and finally to the ultra modern Chan Wook Park and Quentin Tarantino, in my film viewing sensibilities. Favourites kept on changing and idols gave up the ghost for newer ones. But in the silver jubilee year of my existence in this planet, a thought ripped my alter ego of a movie buff into bits and pieces beyond recovery.

Leave a comment